Why do you actually need a roadmap ?

I have to learn it twice as I didn’t have a clear roadmap at first.

Yeah, you definitely must have heard this line from someone either from your friends or colleagues or mentors or anyone else. I myself faced this situation once while learning JavaScript. All I was doing was learning random topics without a clear roadmap. It all became a mess and I found it hard to understand most of the topics. Luckily after 2-3 months, I started learning JavaScript again but this time with a proper roadmap and a good Udemy course also helped. This incident made me realize how important a roadmap can be.

Enough about my one of javascript failures, lol . Let’s see what actually a roadmap is.

What actually is a roadmap?

Roadmap is basically an overview of steps you may need to achieve the desired outcome. It may be of learning something, working on a project. It may not be a detailed plan instead a short and simple one that gives an idea of what you are up for. It helps you own your destiny and reinforce what you value and want to accomplish in the near future. Every other person can have a roadmap be it for their personal feeds or working in a company.

There is a saying:

“Not writing your goals is like trying to sail the ocean without any map”

Advantages of a well-structured Roadmap

  • You will have a clear framework of what you want to achieve moving forward.

  • You will already know the resources you need to reach your goals

  • While working in a team, they may come in very handy for good communication as everyone will know what their task will be.

  • A roadmap definitely shows a clear goal which can be very advantageous while negotiating with a client.

Front-End Web Development Roadmap

I really wanna thank you if you have come this far. As 2022 is nearly here, you may be planning something new, If your plan is to learn Web Development and want to start with Front End first, here is a roadmap you can follow:

  • How the Web Works

  • HTML

  • CSS

  • CSS Framework ( Bootstrap or Tailwind )

  • Vanilla JavaScript

  • GIT

  • JavaScript Framework (React/Vue/Angular/Svelte)

In your journey, you may need resources that may help you. For that, you may follow me on Twitter. I share resources and tips regarding Front End Web Development.

Thanks for reading it till the end and if you liked it, do let me know here in the comments or on Twitter. .